Welcome to the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry

Our mission is to protect the public by regulating the professions of dentistry
and dental hygiene in Louisiana in accordance with the Dental Practice Act.

DENTISTS AND HYGIENISTS - RENEW YOUR LICENSE ONLINE

Dentists and hygienists whose licenses expire December 31, 2017, may now renew their licenses online with a credit card.

Your license renewal payment must be complete no later than 11:59 PM December 31, 2017, to avoid a late fee. Your license is not considered renewed until your payment has been processed.

You must also report continuing education you completed between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2017 online through CE Broker.  See below for additional information.  If you are unable to report your CE through CE Broker, call the board office to have a paper form mailed to you.

Your License ID is your license number and your default PIN is the last 4 digits of your SSN.  If you have reset your PIN and forgotten it, select the "Forgot Password" link and your PIN will be emailed to you.  If you do not have an email address on file with the Board, you are unable to retrieve your PIN online and you must contact the Board directly.

LOGIN - DENTISTS

LOGIN - HYGIENISTS

Once you have renewed your license, you may log back in at any time through the Licensee Login page to print your latest license renewal certificate and any applicable permits.

 

SEPTEMBER 14, 2017
NEW MANDATORY CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
AND
CE BROKER REQUIREMENT

  1. In order to renew your license starting in 2018 you must obtain 3 hours of CE on opioid management. See details below.
  2. In order to renew your license starting in 2017 you must sign up for CE Broker. See details below.

In Act 76 of 2017 regular legislative session, the Louisiana Legislature has mandated that every healthcare provider with a license to prescribe controlled dangerous substances be required to complete 3 hours of opioid management CE as part of their regular CE requirements. This is a one-time requirement; in other words, the 3 hours of opioid management need only be taken once in one’s career.  The board will post on its website some courses that comply with this requirement. Most of these courses are one hour, so three of them must be taken in order to comply with the requirement.

The Legislature has forbidden the board from renewing the license of any dentist who has failed to take 3 hours of CE on opioid management. The law goes into effect on January 1, 2018, so renewals at the end of 2017 will not be affected. Renewals starting at the end of 2018 will be affected by this rule, so starting in 2018 you must receive 3 hours of opioid management CE in order to renew your license. CE hours taken before August 1, 2017 (the date mandated in the legislation) will not count towards this requirement.

Another aspect of Act 76 is that the board is required to retain information on compliance with this new CE requirement and report it to the legislature. In order for the board to keep up with this requirement, ALL licensees will be required to register with CE Broker to report their required continuing education.  All licensees are entitled to a free account through CE Broker. CE Broker is a company that assists dentists in keeping track of and reporting their CE. The requirement to sign up with CE Broker applies to both dentists and hygienists.

Registration with CE Broker requires that you have a valid email address on file with the Board AND you must allow the Board to communicate with you via email.  You may go to the Licensee Login page and update your information including your email address as well as grant permission for the Board to contact you via email.

If you have not reported your completed CE through CE Broker prior to your license expiration date, you will NOT be allowed to renew your license.

For licensees renewing by December 31, 2017, your account must be created no later than December 15, 2017, and your CE must be reported and marked as “complete” through CE Broker before you will be allowed to proceed with your license renewal.

There shall be NO exceptions.  Licensees who fail to report their completed continuing education through CE Broker by December 31 of each year will not be allowed to renew their license prior to the deadline.  At the very least, the delinquent fee will apply to the late license renewal.  Licensees who report their CE after December 31 may also face additional penalties for failure to complete CE requirements.

EXCEPTION TO CE REQUIREMENT

A dentist may be exempted from this new CE requirement by certifying to the board that the dentist has not prescribed, administered or dispensed a controlled dangerous substance during the entire renewal period.  Starting in 2018 the license renewal application will have a box that one can mark to certify the forgoing if it is applicable to you.  Even if you are entitled to an exemption, you will still need to sign up with CE Broker. 

 

NEW ONLINE ACCESS FOR ALL LICENSEES

All Louisiana licensees may now log in at any time to make certain changes to their information (name, address, licensed employees, etc.) on file with the Board.  Additionally, once you have renewed your license for the 2017-2018 period, you may log in at any time to print your latest license renewal certificate and any applicable current permits.

Please visit the Licensee Login page for more information.

 

We update our site on a regular basis. Check back frequently for the most recent information.